Board of Directors and Management Committee

Board of Directors

There are between 13 and 15 Directors at any one time; eight are elected by the membership, with the remainder are appointed by the University of Bath (two), Bath Spa University (one), the Bath and North-East Somerset Council (one), and ‘up to two further Directors from institutions within the Bath area chosen by the Directors’.

In broad terms, the Directors — as trustees of a charity — have three main legal duties:

  • To make sure that the charity’s plans are being carried out appropriately and for the benefit of the public
  • To ensure that the charity meets its legal responsibilities
  • To manage the charity’s resources responsibly

In addition to providing formal oversight, Directors are expected to provide strategic direction, consider risks, and safeguard BRLSI’s good name and values.

Directors are required to abide by the seven Nolan Principles of Conduct Underpinning Public Life: Selflessness, Integrity, Objectivity, Accountability, Openness, Honesty, and Leadership.

The Board meets normally six times per year, with additional special meetings as required.

You may find these ‘Frequently Asked Questions‘ useful.

You can find Summaries of Recent Board Meetings here.

Current Directors

Chair:  Prof. Ian Gadd (Appointed)
Vice-Chair: Mr Michael Davis (Elected)
Secretary: Mr John Gardener
Mr David Hall – Appointed (Bath Preservation Trust)
Dr. Bharat Pankhania – Appointed (B&NES)
Mr Stephen Bird – Appointed (SW Fed. of Museums and Art Galleries)
Dr Farooq Mughal – Appointed (University of Bath)
Dr Simon Hayhoe – Appointed (University of Bath)
Mr Chris Garcia – Elected (BRLSI)
Dr Joe Willson – Elected
Mrs. Julie Cole — Elected
Mr. Dick Bateman — Elected
Mr. Rob Randall  — Elected
Prof. Barry Gilbertson — Elected
Mr. Joe Houlihan — Elected

Management Committee

The Board of Directors delegates operational management to a Management Committee that oversees a range of sub-committees (Collections, Membership, Premises, Programmes, Publications, Staffing etc). There is also a Finance Subcommittee that reports both to the Management Committee and the Board.

Current membership:

Co-chair (interim) — Andreas Wasmuht
Co-chair (interim) —
Chris Garcia
Finance Subcommittee Chair — Dr Joe Willson
Collections Subcommitee Chair — Mr Henry Ford
Membership Subcommitee Chair — Dr David Haywood
Premises Sub-Committee Chair  — Mr Mike Twohig
Programmes Subcommitee Chair — Mr Andreas Wasmuht
Communications and Digital Subcommitee Chair — Mr Joe Houlihan
Staff Subcommittee Chair — Mr Dick Bateman
Grants and Donations Officer — Mr. Chris Garcia
Website Officer — Mr. John Law